## Resources for Learning about Municipal Government Grouping by Municipality Types

Learning about municipal names and types



From the list below, write the name of the municipality in the correct box based on the municipality type. The first one is completed as an example. Watch out, some of the names fit in more than one box!

Arrowwood	Jasper
Banff	Lethbridge
Barrhead	Medicine Hat
Beaumont	Milk River
Camrose	Northern Sunrise
Cardston	Paintearth
Cold Lake	Pelican Narrows
Cremona	Rosemary
Delia	Slave Lake
Edberg	Starland
Fort Macleod	Strathcona County
Fort Saskatchewan	Valleyview
Fox Creek	Vegreville
Ghost Lake	Wetaskiwin
Grande Prairie	White Sands
Greenview	Wood Buffalo
Itaska Beach	Woodlands
	Youngstown

www.alberta.ca/municipal-government-education-and-training ©2020 Government of Alberta | Published: January 2020 | ISBN Electronic:

Alberta

CITY	TOWN	SUMMER VILLAGE
	·	
VILLAGE	COUNTY / MUNICIPAL DISTRICT	SPECIALIZED MUNICIPALITY
Arrowwood	COUNTY / MONICIPAL DISTRICT	SPECIALIZED MONICIPALITY

www.alberta.ca/municipal-government-education-and-training ©2020 Government of Alberta | Published: January 2020 | ISBN Electronic:

Alberta

## ANSWER KEY

City	Town	Summer Village
Beaumont	Banff	Ghost Lake
Camrose	Barrhead	Itaska Beach
Cold Lake	Cardston	Pelican Narrows
Fort Saskatchewan	Fort Macleod	White Sands
Grande Prairie	Fox Creek	
Lethbridge	Milk River	
Medicine Hat	Slave Lake	
Wetaskiwin	Valleyview	
	Vegreville	
Village	County/MD	Specialized Municipality
Arrowood	Barrhead	Municipality of Jasper
Cremona	Camrose	Regional Municipality of Wood
Delia	Cardston	Buffalo
Edberg	Grande Prairie	Strathcona County
Rosemary	Greenview	
Youngstown	Lethbridge	
	Northern Sunrise	
	Paintearth	
	Starland	
	Wetaskiwin	
	Woodlands	