Government of Alberta





August 23, 2010

Alberta puts two immigration programs on hold

Edmonton... In response to current job market conditions, Alberta is no longer accepting applications for two immigration programs.

Effective immediately, the Alberta Immigrant Nominee Program (AINP) will not accept new applications in the Family Stream and the U.S. Visa Holder Category. This change is temporary until further notice.

"Our focus needs to be on jobs for Albertans and Canadians first," said Thomas Lukaszuk, Minister of Employment and Immigration. "We will continue to process applications for people who have the skills our growing economy needs."

The Alberta Immigrant Nominee Program was first introduced to help Alberta build a strong workforce of skilled immigrants. In 2008 the Family Stream and the U.S. Visa Holder Category were added. Both these programs were very successful and have resulted in a large number of applications.

The federal government limits the number of people Alberta can nominate for permanent residence. In 2010 Alberta is allowed to nominate 5,000 people. With limited numbers, Alberta's focus will be on nominating people who currently work in permanent jobs and those who have job offers in occupations that are in demand in Alberta.

Alberta will continue to accept immigration applications in the following areas:

- Skilled workers
- Semi-skilled workers in certain occupations
- International students
- Compulsory trades
- Engineering occupations; and
- Self-employed farmers.

For more information about the Alberta Immigrant Nominee Program, visit <u>albertacanada.com/ainp</u>.

-30-

Media inquiries may be directed to:

Sonia Sinha
Public Affairs Officer, Alberta Employment and Immigration
780-427-2934
Sonia.Sinha@gov.ab.ca

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.

<u>Alberta Government</u> | <u>Newsroom</u> | <u>Ministries Listing</u> | <u>Employment and Immigration Home</u> <u>Page</u> | <u>News Releases</u> | <u>Top of Page</u> |

Send us your comments or questions

Copyright(©) 2010 Government of Alberta

